The average order value, also referred to as AOV for short, is an economic figure that’s used to gain more insight into the spending habits of customers. Advertisers will use this metric to figure out how much people are spending on a particular product or service. In affiliate marketing, the AOV can also be used to learn more about the results of a campaign.
To get the average order value, advertisers will divide the full purchase amount by the total number of sales. Say, for example, that the merchant made 250 sales totaling $10,000 in revenue. In this case, the AOV would be $40. The goal of the AOV is to see the average amount of money spent on each purchase.